Maharaja, Harvard Sq

Standard

Where: Maharaja – 57 JFK Street Cambridge, MA 02138
When: September, 2011

I came to the Majaraja after mysteriously finding a Groupon in my wallet. I’m not sure how it got there as I had never heard of this new restaurant before but I assume I must have bought it on impulse and just didn’t remember. Or they have a fantastic marketing team that slips these things into people’s wallets, who knows.

Love the atmosphere of this place. Lots of heavy carved wood and gold accents. Goblets and details and gold trimmed plates, cutlery, etc. Reasonably priced but you feel a bit like royalty there.

Alyssa recommended we start Aloo Papri Chaat which I had never had before. I don’t know how to describe this other than an Indian savory version of Muddy Buddies (aka Puppy Chow). It was a crunchy and salty and sweet. I wasn’t sure I was in love with it but I couldn’t seem to stop eating it, much like Muddy Buddies.

For an entree I had the Malai Kofta which was delicious. Nutty and creamy, one of the better ones I have had.

Only downside? Well, they didn’t have their liquor license yet!! They have it now though so don’t let that deter you

How did The Maharaja measure up? 3.5 Spoons!

Leave a Reply

