The Beehive, South End

Standard

Where: The Beehive – 541 Tremont Street Boston, MA 02116
When: October, 2011

I’d been dying to go to the Beehive for years. Why it took a special occasion I don’t know but couldn’t think of a better place to go for my 34th birthday. The Beehive, right on Tremont in the South End, was everything I expected. The decor is bohemian, soft, a little frilly, and very welcoming.Libby and I split a bottle of bubbly rosé, which for the life of me I can’t remember the name of, but I promise you it was good. One can’t really go wrong with bubbly and rosé, if you ask me.To try as many new things as possible Libby generously agreed to split a few items instead of getting our own. We started with one of their specials, the curried pumpkin lobster soup. Nothing against the rest of the meal but the soup was definitely the highlight. It was a little spicy, a little creamy and a lot of delicious. The flavors were perfect together.We then shared the Grilled Octopus Salad with lemon, olive oil and oregano. I’ve been in love with octopus since Libby made an octopus salad at the end of the summer so this hit the spot. The octopus was cooked and seasoned well and salad not overly dressed.

We wrapped things up with the Wild Mushroom, Spinach and Ricotta Salata Flatbread Pizza which was also very good.

In retrospect I should have had the soup last as it was definitely best. Or I should have just gotten 3 bowls of that. Beehive – Add it to your menu permanently!

About halfway into our meal the band came on. I was a little worried, because we were so close to the stage, that the music would make any conversation impossible but the band was wonderful and just the right volume. Bravo.

Amazing food, fantastic service and decor-wise probably one of my favorite places in Boston. Run there!

How did The Beehive measure up? 5 Spoons!

Leave a Reply

