Catalyst, Tech Sq

Standard

Where: Catalyst – 300 Technology Square, Cambridge, MA 02139
When: November, 2011

The buzz from this Tech Square restaurant had me dying to try it. I tried going when they first opened in September but, with short planning, I couldn’t get a reservation. I got lucky last night when we walked in without a reservation and only had to wait about 20 minutes, the perfect amount of time to have an aperitif.

I was excited to see what chef William Kovel, formerly of Aujourd’hui in the Four Seasons, could do and, boy, could he do.

First of all, for a place with such high ceilings it was surprisingly cozy. Then the service was phenomenal. We had a designated waiter, who I forget his name, who was very charming and attentive. It didn’t hurt that he referred to me as beautiful. Not one bit. We then had at least another 2 people wait on us. We barely noticed them coming and going but did notice that our glasses were never empty and everything ran seamlessly.

We started with the Mushroom Ravioli which were divine. It was hard to share those. My dinner date then had the Tournedos of Beef with Rainbow Chard, Taleggio Ravioli, Garlic, and Parsley Bordelaise Sauce and I had the Roasted Cod with Olive Oil Crushed Butterball Potatoes, Mussels Chowder, Bacon and Herb Nage. I can die now. His was good and all but the my dish was the kind that you wish you were eating while home alone in your sweatpants so you could lick the bowl when you are done without anyone judging you. I did what I could while in company.

Would definitely go back and, lucky me, our office is moving to Tech Sq in the Spring. Yee haw!

How did Catalyst measure up? 5 Spoons!

Catalyst on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

