Linguine with Prosciutto and Orange, Recipe

Standard

I can’t remember where I got this recipe from but recently found it in my handy recipe box. Typically, indulgent cheesy creamy pasta dishes are saved for company to minimize leftovers but with a cold in full brew I needed some comfort food stat. I can never remember how the saying goes about starving a cold or fever but even sickness doesn’t seem to affect my appetite, sadly.

I loved this dish. It was really easy to throw together and very comforting. It would be great for a weeknight meal as it only took maybe 20 minutes to make (not counting boiling water). I love the combination of the saltiness of the prosciutto and the citrus from the orange. I cut down on the butter a little (knowing I would be eating leftovers for 3 days) and think it worked just fine (below is the modified recipe). I’m keeping this one on standby for the next time I need an easy but impressive dish. Hope you like it!

Linguine with Prosciutto and Orange

– 12 oz linguine (or tagliatelle or fettuccine)
– 1.5 tbsp unsalted butter
– 2 oz thinly sliced prosciutto, torn into small pieces
– zest and juice of one orange
– 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
– 1/4 cup grated Parmesan

Cook pasta according to directions, drain about 1 minute before al dente. Reserve 1/4cup of the cooking water.

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add prosciutto, saute until browned, about 3 minutes. Add reserved pasta water, orange juice, half of zest, and cream. Bring to a boil. Add pasta, cook stirring until sauce coats pasta and pasta is al dente, about 1 minute. Season with salt and pepper (taste first, the cheese and prosciutto already make it very salty – I didn’t need to add any). Stir in cheese, serve and garnish with remaining zest.

Side note: if you save about a tsp of orange juice and zest you can add it to your french toast batter in the morning which I think makes it extra delicious.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Fettuccine with Prosciutto and Orange, Recipe « Five Spoons

Leave a Reply

