The Salty Pig, Back Bay

Standard

Where: The Salty Pig – 130 Dartmouth Street Boston MA 02116
When: December, 2011

Kudos to twitter as that was how I first heard about this restaurant a couple of weeks ago. Since then I saw that a friend on Facebook went there with her husband as did my officemate (or my roomie as I have been known to call her). When I asked Dan where he wanted to go for his birthday he told me to pick a place that was meaty. With pig being right in the name, and my favorite animal to eat, this was my first suggestion and he took it.

I had stalked the menu before going and knew I absolutely had to get the saucisson sec. My family on my mother’s side, who all live in Paris, own a meat distribution company that provides meat to local restaurants, saucisson sec being one of them. This means all my aunts, uncles, cousins, ect have a bounty of saucisson sec in their kitchens for me to nosh on when I am visiting. These two words strung together alone remind me of long leisurely summer lunches in my grandparents’ garden, family vacations in Spain, and barbeques at my cousins’.

For those new to “saucisson sec”, it is (thank you, Wiki): “a variety of thick, dry cured sausage that originates in France. Typically made of pork, or a mixture of pork and other meats, saucisson are a type of charcuterie similar to salami or summer sausage”. Its delicious.

We started off with a bottle of Domaine la Guintrandy Cotes du Rhone (where is that little house above the o key?!) which went really well with all the meat and cheese we were able to partake in. To start we got the Saucisson Sec, as mentioned above, and asked for a recommendation for a cheese similar to Manchego that would go well with honey as that’s my latest obsession. Nick, our server, suggested the Mil Ovejas which is a firm sheeps milk cheese. Good choice, Nick. It was excellent.

While we nibbled we looked through the entrees and wondered what kind of meat the Salty Pig pizza might have on it as it just noted “Today’s Salty Pig Parts”. After a few minutes of grossing each other out suggesting the most disgusting pig parts we decided to ask Nick. Today’s pig parts were: Prosciutto Galloni (Traditional 1 Year Aged Ham), Coppa Piccante (Spicy Dry Cured Pork Shoulder), and Hot Soppressata (Old World Style Dry Cured Sausage). You had me at Prosciutto.

The pig parts came on a really thin crispy pizza crust with Parmigiano oil and a pale ale vinaigrette. I was thrilled about the crust as it snapped really easily between my falsy tooth (no chewy crusts for me for a while). The pizza was definitely salty, not for those who don’t like salt. It had some sort of seasoning salt on it which with the salty pig was crazy salty. Personally I love salty foods and the red wine cut through it very nicely so I had no complaints but I can see why there were a couple Yelp reviews saying it was a little much. Don’t forget your wine or something to cut through it, people.

The check is presented in a book where you can leave a note to draw a little something so when Dan exclaimed “we are going to draw you like a pig” to Nick we just had to. Not my best work really and apparently the wing ruined it but its all I’ve got. Hope Nick wasn’t offended by it.

How did The Salty Pig measure up? 4.25 Spoons!

Salty Pig on Urbanspoon

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

