Red Velvet Holiday Lights

Standard

Cake Pops!!

I love everything about cake pops: making them, eating them, and sharing them. When it was time for our annual office holiday cookie contest I knew I had to make cake pops. Yes, they technically aren’t cookies but neither is bark so whatever.

I found some really cute ideas on Tastespotting (can’t reveal them as they will likely make an appearance next year) but opted for the Holiday Lights I found on Diamond’s for Dessert’s blog. So cute!

Although this is the busy season for baking, its also the busy season for going out and celebrating the holidays so my time in the kitchen was a bit limited which did affect the outcome but overall they turned out well. First of all, I used a boxed red velvet cake mix and pre-made store bought frosting. I know, who the hell do I think I am? Desperate times…

What you will need:
Red Velvet Cake
Cream Cheese Frosting
Green Candy Melts
Red Candy Melts
Yellow Candy Melts
Orange Candy Melts
Green Ribbon

To get Started: Once the cake has cooled to room temperature, break it up (a pastry cutter works great) and mix it up with the frosting. I didn’t measure here, just look for a truffle-like consistency that will stick together. Once everything is incorporated you can start molding the bulbs. Once that’s all done, pop them in the freezer to harden. While you are waiting for them you can start preparing your green dipping chocolate for the bulb stems.

Melt the green candy melts in a double boiler or according the instructions n the microwave. Once the green candy melts have melted and are nice and glossy carefully dip the ends of each bulb in to coat them. Quickly pop a popsicle stick into the bulb stem before the candy hardens. I didn’t do this with the first few but then it occurred to me that I would have a hard time holding that little nub while coating the rest of the bulb later. (Diamond’s for Dessert’s blog cut up the sticks and threaded them but mine weren’t cut able so I had to go a different route). Lay them on wax paper to cool and harden. If you are impatient and got a late start like me you can freeze them.

Once the green candy has hardened, split them up into three batches and start dipping them into the red, orange, and yellow candy melts. You could also add blue or any other colors here if you wanted. Now what I should have done with the ones on a stick was dry them upright stuck into a colander or other container as I have done in the past but instead I just slapped them down on wax paper. I regret this as the bulbs now have a little pool of color spilling around them. I put all the pops in the freezer to harden although you could just leave them out or put them in the fridge.

The problem with freezing the pops is that you are likely going to think “eh, I can just leave them in there until tomorrow” which will cause them to freeze through and then sweat when you pull them out to bring them to room temperature. I learnt, after a lot of “how to stop chocolate from sweating” googling, that chocolate sweating occurs when the chocolate is colder than the room so don’t freeze them for too long.

I strung some of the bulbs together with a green ribbon and then tangled a bunch of ribbon underneath the others as without the ribbon they could have been peppers (Note to self: Make Chili Pepper Cake Pops for Cinco de Mayo).

I’m happy yo say that despite my shortcuts and impatience that these Holiday Lights won the Cookie Contest! Yay!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Doughnuts / Donuts | Eats Well With Others

Leave a Reply

