Chocolate Angel Food Cake, Recipe

Standard

With all the eating out and indulgent 20120122-214108.jpgeating in I have been doing I found myself contemplating giving up dessert, at least the nights I am dining in. Then I remembered the few times I have done this before and how I end up eating twice as much when I do allow myself a sweet treat. This was not a good plan. Instead I needed to come up with a relatively healthy(ish) low cal treat to satisfy my sweet tooth and trick myself into thinking I have had the dessert of my dreams. Hello, Chocolate Angel Food Cake.

Chocolate Angel Food Cake
From Evil Shenanigans

1 1/2 cups egg whites at room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar, divided
3/4 cup cake flour, sifted with
1/4 cup Dutch processed cocoa
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla

Heat your oven to 325 F and wash and dry a 9″ tube pan, making sure it is completely clean.

With a hand mixer or stand mixer, beat the egg whites on medium speed until they begin to forth. Gradually add 3/4 cup sugar, the salt and the cream of tartar. Increase the speed to high and beat until soft peaks form. Add the vanilla and blend well.

Sift the dry ingredients, making sure they are well blended. Fold the dry ingredients into the whipped egg whites in four additions, making sure to scrape the bottom of the bowl well while folding.

Pour into your tube pan and bake for 55 to 60 minutes. Cool inverted on a cooling rack for at least two hours, or overnight. Unmold, using a thin knife around the edges of the pan to help it release, slice, and serve.

20120122-214136.jpg

Personally, I like mine with a healthy dose of strawberries and whip cream!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

