Parsnip, Sage, and Mascarpone Risotto, Recipe

Standard

I play this little game with myself where I see how many recipes I can make out of leftover ingredients. Sometimes this can cause a chain of half a dozen recipes as I keep having to buy more ingredients and then need to finish that, etc. This time I had mascarpone left over from the Spinach Ravioli I made with my dad a couple of weeks ago. I had bookmarked dozens of recipes, savory and sweet, and finally decided on this Parsnip, Sage, and Mascarpone Risotto. I didn’t use all the mascarpone (damnit!) so I’ll have to go through those bookmarked recipes again.

I omitted the wine from the original recipe as I indulged a bit to much the night before and the smell was making my stomach churn. I also greatly reduced the Parmesan cheese as I decided to log this into My Fitness Pal and was getting a little nervous between the butter, cheeses, etc. You’ll be happy to hear that one serving is around 300 calories – surprisingly reasonable for such a filling dish. I also had to convert the measurements from metric to US standard (why didn’t we just adopt the metric system while we had the chance?) so some of the measurements may seem like odd amounts. It works though, trust me.

I thought this was a great recipe and will definitely make it again. Even with my healthier adjustments it still came out rich and creamy. I’m looking forward to leftover lunches!

Now I have parsnips and sage left over… Game on!

20120205-214916.jpg

Parsnip, Sage & Mascarpone Risotto
Adapted from Le Delicieux
Serves 4

Ingredients:
4 & 1/4 cups of vegetable stock
2 & 1/2 of butter
1 medium onion, finely chopped
3 medium parsnips, peeled and coarsely grated
6 sage leaves, finely shredded
1 & 1/4 cup of arborio rice
2 tablespoons of mascarpone
2 tablespoons of parmesan cheese, grated
5 cups of baby spinach

Method:
Start by placing the vegetable stock in a saucepan. Bring to a simmer and then reduce heat to low to keep warm.

In a large pot, melt the butter over a medium heat and add the onion, parsnips and sage and cook for 5 minutes, until the onion is softened but not colored.

Add the rice and stir well to coat before cooking for a few minutes until they begin to turn translucent.

Use a ladle to add a spoonful of stock to the risotto and stir until the stock almost disappears before adding the next ladle of stock. Continue until all of the stock is used, or the rice is plump but retains a bit of bite.

Remove the risotto from the heat and add the grated parmesan, baby spinach and mascarpone and stir to combine. Cover with a lid and set aside for 5 minutes. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

