Green Monster Smoothie, Recipe

Standard

Its Monday and you ate like crap all weekend. What do you do now? Make a Green Monster Smoothie! Ok, it doesn’t reverse all the weekend damage you’ve done but it sure makes me feel like I’m doing my body some good.

I don’t know about you guys but I definitely have weeks where it seems as though I have eaten every meal out and consumed more bottles of wine than any one person should. I have a few go-to “recovery” meals I try to stick to after a period like this to try to avoid packing on the lbs. This one, although hard to call a meal, is now a part of that rotation.

I wasn’t sure about this smoothie when I first read through the ingredients list but decided to give it a whirl and, boy, am I glad I did. I was afraid I wouldn’t feel full or satisfied with just this but having had a healthy, filling lunch this did the trick for dinner. I even skipped my usual oreos and milk dessert without feeling deprived.

I’d love to take this into work for lunch some days if anyone has any suggestions on how to keep it tasting like a smoothie hours later!

 

20120428-081250.jpg

Green Monster Spinach Smoothie
Adapted from Iowa Girl Eats

Ingredients:
1 frozen sliced banana
1 Tablespoon creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup 0% Vanilla Chobani Greek yogurt
1 cup low fat milk
3 cups baby spinach

Directions: Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Serves 1. Nutritional stats: 350 calories, 10g fiber, 21g protein

5 responses »

    • The other flavors totally mask it. Other than the green color you would never know there is spinach in there! If anything, it was a little too sweet for me so I may cut back on the PB a tad. Very yummy!

Leave a Reply

