Painted Burro, Davis Sq – Revisited

Standard

Where: The Painted Burro – 219 Elm Street Somerville, MA
When: May 2012

I’m very fond of the Painted Burro. In fact, in some cultures I may be considered “in love” with the Burro. He makes me very happy.

Lately I have been spending more time at the Painted Burro, it seems to be becoming one of my regular spots.  The have turned me into a big margarita fan.

This last visit started off as just going out for a couple of margaritas but once we got a couple of those in us we wanted food. We ordered the Guacamole “El Mero Mero” with fire roasted poblano & onion rajas and the Crispy Maine Redfish tacos with savoy cabbage, jalapeno slaw and baja mayo.

20120602-233019.jpg

The Burro offers three types of guacamole: one traditional, one with pork belly, and one with peppers and onions. We opted for the third options which was really good. The poblanos weren’t too spicy but gave the guacamole a nice texture and flavor. The guacamole alone would have been great so this was just an added bonus. And the chips… delicious. Not too heavy or greasy like a lot of places.

Its a little hard to tell whats going on in this photo but this is the Crispy Maine Redfish tacos with savoy cabbage, jalapeno slaw and baja mayo.I had had this dish earlier in the week and remembered it being really good (so good I forgot to take a photo before inhaling them) so suggested it again. We both really enjoyed the tacos and found them really filling. They had  just the right amount of crunch, crisp, spice, and creaminess. I think I actually prefer these over the shrimp tacos I got last time I was there.

Overall, I love this place and am upping the spoons I gave them last time. I love the atmosphere, the food is great and the service very good (they forgot to put in our guacamole order so when we asked 30 minutes later they brought it out for free and were very apologetic). I actually just realized why I recognized the bartender, he is / was the bartender at Posto, which is owned by the same people. You know you are in trouble when you start recognizing bartenders from bar to bar, right?

How did The Painted Burro measure up? 4.5 Spoons!

The Painted Burro on Urbanspoon

One response »

  1. Pingback: Olecito, Inman Sq « Five Spoons

Leave a Reply

