Homemade Mayonnaise, Recipe

Standard

I know its not the most exciting, exotic, or appealing post I’ve ever done but I have to dedicate one blog post to homemade mayonnaise. I know a lot of you hate mayo so I apologize in advance but I’m the girl that would dip her fries in mayo every night of the week given the opportunity. Its the french in me.

I looked up a few mayonnaise recipes and their reviews before settling on this one from Epicurious. The lemon and dijon were mild but added a nice freshness to the mayo. If you follow the recipe exactly you will get about 3/4 of a cup of delicious homemade mayo. Be warned: your whisking arm will be tired when you are done.

I made this mayo to use on chicken sandwiches with roasted red peppers, avocado, provolone, and leftover roasted chicken. Definitely worth the effort.

Homemade Mayonnaise20120304-103456.jpg

Ingredients
1 large egg yolk*
1 1/2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
1/4 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt plus more to taste
3/4 cup canola oil, divided

Preparation
Combine egg yolk, lemon juice, vinegar, mustard, and 1/2 teaspoon salt in medium bowl. Whisk until blended and bright yellow, about 30 seconds.

Using 1/4 teaspoon measure and whisking constantly, add 1/4 cup oil to yolk mixture, a few drops at a time, about 4 minutes. Gradually add remaining 1/2 cup oil in very slow thin stream, whisking constantly, until mayonnaise is thick, about 8 minutes (mayonnaise will be lighter in color). Cover and chill. do ahead Can be made up to 2 days ahead. Keep chilled.

* Raw egg is not recommended for infants, the elderly, pregnant women, and people with weakened immune systems. To avoid the risk of salmonella infection, you can use pasteurized egg yolk instead.

14 responses »

  1. Pingback: Roasted Chicken, Recipe « Five Spoons

  2. I keep meaning to do this! I think shop-bought mayo is way too expensive for what it is and the cheap stuff just tastes horrid. I’m going to try it, thanks for the reminder 🙂

  3. Pingback: Mustard Horseradish Sauce, Recipe « Five Spoons

  4. Pingback: Mustard Horseradish Sauce | Eats Well With Others

  5. Pingback: Eats Well With Others

Leave a comment